El Hombre de la Tierra

1

The following is based off of an interaction during a trip to an Esperanza Clinic in Tijuana, Mexico. As one of the sisters talked about the mission of the clinic, the rest of the group looked at the dump from afar. A man climbed out of the wreckage of human waste and garbage and walked past our group. I immediately wrote a poem in response to this experience.

 

A form appeared from la tierra

Un hombre

Covered head to toe

In the sweat and the dirt

Of the Tijuana dump

 

As we stood and beheld

The world around us

He lived it

 

He sat in it

 

His perro sat in it, too

 

As the sister of the clinic

continued to discuss

Poverty

Disease

Drug Abuse,

El hombre de la tierra approached me

 

He reached for me

 

La mano

 

Without a second thought

I extended my hand to him

My porcelain skin met his chalky palms

 

I was so embarrassed.

 

 

Leave a Reply

