Blood, Sweat and Cement.

Yesterday, we worked for seven hours pouring cement on a roof. It took fifty volunteers, eight children, and about six skilled carpenters. I lifted, I pushed, I pulled, and I marveled at our combined strength. When it was finished I looked around at the group leaders and all the volunteers around me, all weatherbeaten, all red, and all smiling in triumph.

Now that it’s all said and done I have fourteen cuts on my hands, and when I move to stretch I can feel my dry skin resist the movement. My back aches and my glutes are on fire, although I am secretly grateful for the burn, seeing as summer is coming up. But when I saw what we accomplished, what I accomplished, I smiled back at all the people around me. I feel inspired, I feel empowered, and mostly I feel awe struck.

I feel inspired by all the people around me; from the volunteers and staff who have dedicated their life and time to this work, to all the locals that I have encountered; who are stronger, kinder and better cooks than I ever could have imagined.
I feel empowered by the vision that drives this foundation. This organization is so multifaceted and I find myself amazed at its ability to extend itself into so many parts of the community. Lastly, I find myself in awe at the people that I have been surrounded by and the amount we’ve been able to accomplish. My time in Mexico has disproved all my previous notions about the culture, the issues and the people, and for that I am grateful.

Kyla

Leave a Reply

