Day 4 Dec 17th 2013 by Sam Asher, Junior Theatre Major

I can’t promise this to be the most fluid blog anyone’s ever read; today we poured concrete and my arms feel like they may fall off any minute. Be patient with my mind as it bounces from place to place in describing the experience of this wonderfully sunny day at the NPH Campus, Nicaragua.
Our team woke up before 7AM today so we could hit the worksite by 8AM. We had the biggest concrete pour of our project today and successfully completed it. This left our whole team ready for a siesta by the time 4PM rolled around. Granted, the peqeunos we were working with were a little bit annoyed we couldn’t finish the entire sidewalk that evening. However, after about twenty minutes of “No podemos trabajar mas,” they got the idea that we could not and would not continue. Sometimes you have to know when to quit.
pwob3
Regardless of how tired our bodies were, we had a visitor for dinner this evening. At 6PM we all checked in with each other over a cup of coffee. At 6:30, Marlon Velasquez – the national director of NPH – came to share a meal with us. During our time together, he explained that NPH was built on the foundation of being a family, not an orphanage. Respect to this property, land, and community was built through hard work by the pequeños for the pequeños. He told us how visitors come and go, but the ones who have the best time are the people who interact most with the kids. If you talk to the pequeños about the right things you’re “in,” but if you give them the tiniest ounce of pity… well, you’re probably “out.”
Even though my Spanish is broken, useless, and sometimes flat out wrong, I feel like I’m a part of this family. After three days of mentally exhausting myself to get words out, I think the peak of speaking a foreign language has started. They call me “Harry Potter,” and tell me I know Spanish well, I’m just too afraid to use it. Que bonita, Nicaragua.
pwob4

Sam

