Mi descanso

This last week for my descanso, or 6 day break before new classes started, I traveled to London and Paris. I had a great time with the three girls who traveled with me. Our hostels were relatively clean and I saw almost everything I wanted to see in 5 days, which was pretty impressive, I must say. We only made it to one museum- the Louvre, of course- but it was incredible. I also tried escargot AND a baguette and cheese in Paris, fish and chips AND high tea in London, and went to Platform 9 3/4 in King’s Cross Station! In the 4 days we had in Paris, we walked up the Eiffel Tower in Paris; spent several hours walking through the Palace of Versailles; saw Notre Dame and La Basilique du Sacre-Coeur de Montemarte, which were absolutely beautiful. The last day we took a boat tour along the Thames River to see the sights one last time. Did you know that Notre Dame is the starting point for measuring any distance in Paris?

In London, we saw the London Eye, Westminster Abbey, Buckingham Palace, Tower Bridge, London Bridge, Big Ben, and the Parliament Building all in one day!
Transportation was pretty easy in both cities, although we didn’t realize that our hostel was an hour away from the airport we chose in London, so we paid a steep price for the cab ride the last day. Live and learn, I suppose.

Now that I am back, my real classes have started. I am not in the higher level like I hoped but I am taking a class called The Political System of Spain and the EU which is pretty interesting. I am also taking a Spanish culture class, a grammar class, and a writing and speaking class. My schedule gives me enough time to work out every day, which is greatly needed with all of the sweets our host mom keeps feeding us!

Loving Europe,

 

Chloe

Leave a Reply

