Dia 3

On day 3, I am beginning to feel more comfortable in Spain. It has definitely been a challenge thus far. Even before we arrived, our plane from Dallas, TX to Madrid was delayed four hours, so we missed our connecting flight to Granada, meaning we arrived in Granada after 11 p.m. rather than 1 p.m. Luckily, our host mom was informed of our delay and was still happy to see us! She gave us a delicious meal before showing us our rooms and letting us sleep for 12 hours! My roommate and I definitely needed it! Yesterday was Orientation, where we received important information about Granada, living in our home stay, and how the program works. We have an exam on Monday to test our knowledge. Yikes- better start studying! Speaking and listening to Spanish almost every moment has been the most difficult part to adjust to, because I keep wanting to lapse into English. But even in the last 48 hours my listening and speaking skills have improved, so I know it won’t be long before I barely have any problems! My favorite parts so far about Granada: La arquitectura- the details and the history of each building is fantastic! I’m learning so much!
IMG_2245

IMG_2231

IMG_2242
El perro- Evie, our host mom’s dog, is so cute, and such a great conversation starter!

IMG_2253
Tapas y vino- It’s such an integrated part of the culture here, and it’s an inexpensive and fun way to try the food and hang out with friends!
IMG_2204
I’m so glad I am here and can’t wait to see the rest of the city!

Hasta Luego,

Chloe

Leave a Reply

