The Last Week?!

Hello there! I opened this blog post and stared at the screen for a while trying to decide what to write about. I mean, Paris is fantastic, but when blogging there’s only so much I can say about the museums I visited this week, the sites I’ve seen, and the food I’ve eaten. You know? It’s just one of those things that’s difficult to describe. Each and every day is an adventure, and they’re all different, but how does one describe these things (and make it interesting for a blog post). It’s crazy difficult, for me anyway.

So I decided I’d do this blog post a little differently, and leave you with some random facts about Paris, the French, and my adventures here.

Pierre, the super clichĂ© French name, means “stone” in French.

The Dominos Pizza here is much better than in the States (don’t judge me, I was with a group of people and we were hungry).

Most of the stereotypes that you can think about Parisians are actually true. They’re always late, they’re very forward if they think you’re pretty or handsome, they take three hours to eat a meal, they’re all incredibly well dressed, they literally eat baguettes constantly, many people smoke, everyone walks everywhere or takes public transportation (although the people who drive are terrifying), and they do the whole kissing thing on the cheeks when they greet and say good bye to people. But what I’ve found especially interesting about all of these stereotypes is that the French people are just people. I was terrified of them when I first got here (don’t make fun of me, there’s the whole language barrier thing), but I’ve gotten used to it. There’s definitely a huge culture difference, but they’re still just people, even if they follow all these stereotypes (except berets, nobody here wears those at all).

The other day, I mispronounced the word “bottle” and instead said “box.” (They’re sort of close in French.) Essentially, I asked a waiter for a box of water. She was quite confused.

I’ve been seeing a lot of artwork (the Thinker, Van Goghs, Monets, etc.) and I’m absolutely amazed every time I see one.

Anyway, I have a week left here, and I’m in this really strange place where I’m excited to go home (so much, I miss everyone — and English), but I’m going to be sad to leave. I’ve made some great friends here, some amazing, irreplaceable memories, and a temporary home. Luckily, I feel as if I’ve done almost everything that I wanted to do here (there’s a few last minute things for this weekend), but it will still be strange to be leaving, even if I am excited to return to the States.

Kendra

Leave a Reply

