The Catacombs and Tour de France

Saturday was probably the strangest day culturally that I’ve had so far here. It’s about 90 degrees, and there were no plans for the morning, so what do my friends and I decide to do? Go see dead people. Yeah, it’s probably not the most traditional “French-y” experience, but the Catacombs were probably one of the coolest things I’ve seen here yet. I picked up one of those fancy audio guides, and learned a ton of really neat things about French history that were…. less than traditional. Also, when my friend and I were down there looking at all of the skeletons, this random French guy pulled me aside to make sure that I was doing okay with “l’air de mort” or the air of death. I reassured him that I was fine, and then he told me a really wickedly creepy, but totally awesome, story about how people used to hold candle light concerts in the Catacombs and other things that happened. It was kind of strange, but I got to hear something new, plus I had the whole conversation in French! Hooray! After the Catacombs I went and saw the movie called Pour une Femme (all in French) with another friend, and we actually understood most of it! We also ate sushi… Which was delicious, though probably not too French. I figure that I’m here for long enough to eat non-French food too 😀
IMG_4258
Today was the Tour de France (that huge bike race that goes on every year, for those of you who don’t know). I had a rather lazy day, then headed down to the Champs-Élysées to watch the bikers come into Paris for the final stretch of the race. Everyone was so excited and happy, and it was a really neat experience.
IMG_4302
Tomorrow class begins again, which is good, although I am quite tired. Unfortunately, at the end of this week, several people from my program are leaving. Only about half of us stay for the full 7 weeks, and others only get to stay for 5. I’ll miss them terribly, but we’ve all decided to keep in touch, which is good. Anyway, I’m just rambling now so I shall leave this post at that, and simply say bonne nuit!

Kendra

Leave a Reply

