The City is Made to be Walked

Today marks my fourth day here in Dublin, and I’ve noticed a lot of things.
I’m not just saying that, either. We have been given class assignments centered around observation of the world around us and meticulous note taking. In order to get these notes, – which are sometimes vague, and sometimes more specific – it is encouraged that we not only actively pay attention during the activities of the day, but that we wander around for a bit on our own as well. So I’ve been doing a lot of walking.

Dublin is an amazingly walkable city.

Every museum, restaurant, theater, grocery store, or otherwise other attraction we have needed to visit has been within walking distance of Trinity college, where we are staying. I love being able to set out the gates of the school and be able to get anywhere I need to be by foot.

I love walking, it’s one of my favorite past times, I walk whenever I get the chance. But no matter how much I walk around back home, there is something infinity more intriguing about walking somewhere unfamiliar. There are new streets to learn, new shops to notice, new windows to browse, new people to watch, new shortcuts to find, and it’s fascinating how quickly I’ve become accustom to this new arena of sights, sounds and streets.

This morning I walked alone to a grocery store to pick up some things, and I realized that I knew exactly were I was going. I never once felt as if I might get lost. Walking there and back seemed like the most natural thing, in this city I’ve never seen before in my life. I think this is because when you walk a city, you get a feel for it you can’t get any other way. You encounter it first hand. You become a part of it.

During a lunch period yesterday spent wandering quiet side streets, we stumbled upon some faded words painted onto the walkway. The phrase that stood out to me most, and that stayed with me even after we had wandered on, was this:

“Walkers are practitioners of the city, for the city is made to be walked.”

And so with that in mind, I leave you with this video. A compilation of footage acquired while traveling to, and walking around Dublin. A first volume, I’m sure, of several videos to come.

Alex

One thought on “The City is Made to be Walked

Leave a Reply

