My Mind is in Paris…

Five days until I arrive in London on my way to study abroad at L’Université Paris-Sorbonne. My name is Kendra Jozwiak, and I have a wonderful mix of excitement and anxiety for the experience I’m about to have in France.

As I start preparing to leave, many worries flood my mind. Am I packing enough? Too little? Do I have everything? Do I know enough French to do well on my language placement test? But even as these worries roll over in my mind, the things I am excited for start to take over. An entirely new place awaits me with completely different experiences. I’m going to learn so much, and be able to do things that I couldn’t have without this opportunity. A little over a week from now I could be sitting in a French café enjoying a cup of coffee and a croissant while looking out at Paris.

I’m lucky enough to be staying with a host family for the six weeks while I’m in France. I received information about them just today, and I think I actually squealed with excitement. Another American student and I will be sharing a room in this family’s house (at least we can fumble through the transition together).

As each day passes, it seems less and less real to me. But at the same time, my excitement continues to grow and it’s all I can talk about (I think my family might be getting annoyed). I can’t believe that I’m lucky enough to have this experience.

Kendra

Leave a Reply

