London Living

This past week of living in London has been very eventful! I started both of my classes last week, and they should both be very interesting. I’m taking British Youth Culture and Censorship. I planned to only have classes twice a week so that I had time on the other days to explore.
Over the weekend, I had the opportunity to go to the Queen’s official birthday parade which is called Trooping the Colour. Her birthday is actually in April, but it is not celebrated until June because the weather is typically better in June. At the parade, I got to see the entire royal family. I was most excited to see Kate, who looked great despite being very close to giving birth. After the parade, I went to Shakespeare’s Globe Theatre to watch a production of A Midsummer Night’s Dream. I had a groundling ticket which meant that I stood right next to the stage. The production was great even despite the fact that it was pouring down rain.
The next day, the majority of people on our program went to Eton College and Windsor Castle. Windsor Castle is where the royal family lives for the majority of time, and I don’t blame them; it was beautiful!
After a long weekend, I spent the beginning of the week exploring Hyde Park, going to class, and mastering my tube skills!
I’ve been having a great time here so far, and can’t wait to do more exploring around this great city!

Colleen

Leave a Reply

